News And Transactions

Mark Prior (Not a minor leaguer but it’s my Blog, I write what I want) – According to Rick Wilton’s Baseball Injury Report , Prior will begin the season on the 15-day DL. This is not good news but warnings signs have been in evidence for months, and validates the Will Carroll report in February. Proof for anyone reading – Always trust Baseball Prospectus before the Cubs’ media department. Apologies to the Wrigley faithful, but many including myself have projected the Cubs demise would come because of Dusty Baker’s beliefs, or more to the point, non-belief in things related to pitch counts and pitches thrown per inning. And yes, as a prospect guy, it is seen through the evil eye of a man that doesn’t like to see the young player cast aside for the likes of Neifi Perez and formerly Todd Hollandsworth. Sue me for I am biased.

Tim Stauffer – The Padres have optioned Stauffer to Triple-A Portland of the Pacific Coast League. He hasn’t come around the way I thought he might. Going against my basic methodology, I ignored some of the nag issues prior to the 2005 season and rated him in the top-30 of my prospect list. I don’t regret that decision, and if it comes out poorly I’ll live with the fact I liked his stuff beyond basic velocity speed, and ignored the signs of erratic control. Inconsistency has been the end result, but he and I could both gain some respect if he were to shred the PCL this year, something I think he’s capable of. Should get another look later this year, hopefully with better confidence and control.    

Leave a Reply

